Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2014 – Day 1: A Day in the Life

Welcome to Day 1 of the biggest Knitting blog week on the interwebs! I hope you enjoy my posting as much as I will be enjoying everyone else’s this week. The topic for today is: a day in the life of your knitting.

What does my knitting get up to when I’m not looking? Good question. The answer is: it migrates all over the house without my knowledge. I think all knitters can empathise with this one. On the one hand, it’s good to know you’ve always got knitting ready to go whenever you feel the urge, but some days your house feels like this:

tribbles

Luckily, the Common Domesticated Knitting species, whilst abundant, likes to hide in very predictable places. It prefers warm and cosy spots, near good seating. It thrives in well-lit areas and is particularly drawn to televisions, or similar devices. It should be noted that if you find your Knitting has migrated to less practical areas such as the kitchen countertop and the bathroom, you may have a Knitting infestation problem. I can’t help you with that.

Allow me to demonstrate some of the best Knitting-spotting areas.

day1c

In the hallway, ready to be let out for a walk!

Laceweight car knitting

In the car!

day1a

By the bed! (Knitting sometimes likes to roam in groups around this area)

day1d

Some of it is sulking in the hibernating project pile, whilst yet more Knitting is sitting neat and tidy in IKEA boxes like we all know it should really be, (but it seems so cruel…)

day1e

Occasionally you might spot Knitting in it’s infant form, as shopping that hasn’t been put away yet (it was Yarn Shop Day on May 3rd, couldn’t resist)

day1b

No wait! That tribble picture was just a joke!*

*********

All of my posts for this week are collected here.

You can see what everyone else is posting today here.

 

*Toft Alpaca fur pom-pom y’all.

12 Comments

Filed under KniCroBloWeek2014

12 responses to “Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2014 – Day 1: A Day in the Life

  1. I love it! I have to keep all my knitting grounded up now I have little ones, it’s a hard task!

  2. so funny 😀
    thanks for cheering up the morning!

  3. Loved it, so funny ! I need to be more careful with what my knitting does when I’m away… I do own a Tribble too, do you think they chat together ? “Hey I’m fluffy, so are you”. 😀

  4. I really enjoyed your post – perhaps because I identify with it a little too much? Could not possibly say 🙂

  5. I tried to give my knitting a nice home in some comfy baskets on a shelf but for some reason it tends to keep escaping and getting into places like the dining table or the conservatory or whatever surface a guest is likely to sit down on. Silly knitting.

  6. caityrosey

    I enjoyed the way you chose to write today’s post. My knitting has little hide-outs all over my house too. Stockinette projects, in particular, have a thing for Netflix and can usually be found in proximity to the Roku remote.

  7. Hi. I liked your topic. I have more fortune than you because my knitting or crochetting are deposited into a dozen of varied size baskets under my bed. But no top without dust 🙂

  8. This was such an amusing post! Thanks for sharing!

  9. You’re a hoot! And great writer! So happy that yours is the first blogweek posting I am reading with my morning coffee, it is a great way to start my day 😀 Cheers!

  10. Oh girl, it’s lurking at you. I’d laugh, but it’s too close to home! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  11. I know that feeling. Turning around.. then you spot a flurry of fiber and your most recent scarf is flopping on the floor behind you. I swear, it can walk. 😄 Cute post!!

Leave a Reply

