A change is as good as a rest

Around about this time two years ago, Garnstudios put a 25% discount on all their alpaca-containing yarns. I bought a large amount of Drops Nepal and made one of my favourite jumpers to date. I even had 5 leftover balls when I was done – not quite enough for clothes but something to be put aside until an idea came along. Now Garnstudios have put all those yarns on sale again.

Dammit, I’m not made of stone.

2013-12-04 08.51.31

Old yarn, meet the new yarn. I’m sure you will be very happy together.

Recently completing a very fiddly fine-gauge project put me in the mood for the polar opposite: I want a big cosy rug of a project that I can spread out over my knees and keep warm with as I work. So, the next project will be a cardigan of the long, slouchy style commonly referred to as ‘boyfriend’. That term irritates me on several levels, not least because it insists on being the most accurate search term for the kind of cardigan shape I want. The nerve of it. No male I know will want to wear this thing when I’m done with it!

Grumping about confusing gendering of clothing aside, there are quite a few long cardigan patterns I’ve found and liked, but none were quite right for what I envisioned: Linney (don’t like the pockets), Shapely Boyfriend (don’t want raglan sleeves), Two Boyfriends (not sure about the proportions, don’t want stripes!). The problem with designing your own clothes, I’m finding, is that it gets very hard to work from other people’s patterns. It’s like if Goldilocks decided “None of these are just right! I’m going to the kitchen to make my own porridge! With golden syrup! And organic oats!”. What I’m trying to say is that improvising your patterns may get you exactly what you want but it’ll make you ten times pickier and it also it takes longer and you may get caught by bears.

Whilst the picture in blog post shows a serene pile of raw cardigan, I will have long since cast on long by the time you read this. I look forward to making and wearing this cardigan, I really do. It’ll keep me happy and warm until that glorious day when it finally becomes socially acceptable for me to wear my dressing gown to work.

6 Comments

Filed under Projects, WIPs

6 responses to “A change is as good as a rest

  1. I have a work dressing gown.. And slippers! Maybe it’s more acceptable in an office of knitters than one of geeky boys 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing this one! X

  2. caityrosey

    Don’t think you have to get worried that you’ll be caught by the bears. In this case, who is that? Not the alpacas. They’re thousands of miles away.

  3. I totally agree. I always look at patterns more as a starting point, it’s rare I find one I want to make exactly as is. And then it sits there for ages while I make my final decisions… and get on with one of those rare patterns I didn’t want to change in the meantime! But surely it’s quite easy to leave out pockets or stripes? Not so easy to change the shape of the sleeves.

  4. Your dilemma is pretty much why I started designing!

  5. Pingback: FO: Triangle Check Cardigan | A pile of sheep

Leave a Reply

