FO: Snowdrift Jumper

sd_Fin

So can you tell I’m pleased with this one? It is a jumper that has sprung into my head and sprung out again in a relatively short time, and it totally works! Fair Isle everywhere, just like in my dreams!

sd_side

My ideas for a faux-seam even worked out ok too, hiding the jog in the colourwork/shaping and neatly bordering the yoke pattern. I think it looks sort of like I’m wearing a strappy vest over a regular jumper from a distance (a cami-jumper?)

Also, I will continue to bleat on about how great Excelana yarn is until you are all using it for colourwork projects because it is great – it is so, so smooth and warm and stretchy once it’s been blocked out. There was a point in this project where the unblocked sleeves were making me a bit nervous because when I tried them on they were cutting off the circulation somewhat. They had a lot of long floats and very little stretch but after a good wash and a ruthless blocking they were ok. It is good when sleeves do not cling onto your arms like chinese fingertraps.

Now I seem to recall I had some other knitting lying around somewhere. I’m off to look down the back of the sofa…

2 Comments

Filed under Finished Objects, Projects

2 responses to “FO: Snowdrift Jumper

  1. looks lovely, lots of work,I would say.

  2. Awesome lovely jumper! Should keep you snug all winter 🙂 Will bear that in mind about the yarn

Leave a Reply

