WIP: Laceweight Blouse

Yep, kicking off another item in the Knit The Queue challenge: an entire blouse in laceweight yarn, on 2.25mm needles. This is the finest gauge work I have ever attempted, at 10 stitches to the inch. This is a marathon! The pattern is “Blouse with Gathered Neckline” from A Stitch In Time Vol. 2.

A Stitch In Time Vol.2

It’s a pretty little design, but I never wanted to knit it as is. I want it a little more modern, a little more casual, and with a wider neckline. My first step is make the sleeves t-shirt length. This has the delightful advantage of making them a marginally quicker knit. When I say quicker, I mean “Hey! The first sleeve took less than 10 hours!”

blousesleeve

The yarn is Fyberspates Scrumptious Lace and it had to be in red! Well I say that, maybe some sort of Champagne colour would work too, but red goes with the most of my outfits. It’s not a yarn I’ve worked with before but it is totally delightful and I really like the way the fancy little details in the cuff and fabric came out.

blouseclose

Picot edgings are very easy: a decent amount of stockinette, one row of yarnover, k2tog throughout,  then repeat the stockinette, and fold on the dotted line! I gave this a light steaming to make sewing easier later down the line and the fabric is behaving very nicely. It’s good crisp stuff that won’t get all shiny and matte after a bit of a squish.

So roll on sleeve 2! I am going to have to buy proper lace needles for the body I think. Currently I’m working with sock needles, but I want to continue my modern knitting ways by doing the body in the round. I think it’s the only way I can face 3 inches of ribbing at that gauge. Daunting!

10 Comments

Filed under Projects, WIPs

10 responses to “WIP: Laceweight Blouse

  1. Wow, I don’t think I’d have the patience for this. Good luck!

  2. You are crazy (but in a creative and determined way). I love Scrumptious Lace too. If I was going to make something like this then the yarn you have chosen would probably be at the top of my list too.

  3. Sheena

    What a great looking blouse! Looking forward to seeing the end result.

  4. This blouse is so pretty – I can’t wait to see the end result. I think you’re right about the neckline too. It’s way out of my skill level – good luck!

  5. Ellen, you are a riot. I’m adding you to my bloglovin’ list.

    Once upon a time I made a red cardigan. The pattern looked so lovely on the model, and I was drawn in (despite having the COMPLETE TOTAL OPPOSITE BODY SHAPE as the never-eaten-a-decent-meal-in-her-life waif wearing the original). The plan was to bang it out and wear it for my October wedding. I used Elsebeth Lavold Hempathy–I purchased something like eleven balls and it cost over a hundred dollars, plus tiny needles–and it draped like a dream. Even unwashed it was lovely.

    I was still knitting the night before the wedding.

    Fast forward eight months: my aunt was getting married and also planned on a red and white color scheme, so I decided to pull out the bits and pieces of my unfinished, unassembled sweater and finally get it off the needles. I then also started pulling my hair out when I realized that none of the pieces were fitting together, rather like trying to force jigsaw pieces from two different puzzles. I made it work, only to then learn that I could have probably worked up a small instead of a large. Then I took in the side seams so I would look a bit less like a barn. After my aunt’s wedding, I decided I hated the sweater so much, I pulled the whole thing apart, rewound the yarn, and threw it in the stash bucket until I could stop being mad at it.

    Three years later I found errata online. You may have heard my frustrated screams from across the ocean.

  6. Q – Beautiful! The color is scrumptious!

  7. This is gorgeous so far! I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  8. How beautiful! I have my eye on that one and it’s inspiring to see your alterations (don’t like the choking neckline as well). Keep us posted! The colour is great!

  9. Pingback: Those other WIPs I have | A pile of sheep

Leave a Reply

