A little bit of yarn shopping

I went to the London Knitting and Stitching show on October 13th, which I was going to write about earlier, but you know, life. This is a massive show held at the Alexandra Palace. All sorts of fibre and textile based exhibitions and stalls were present. Me and my fellow knitting ladies made a whole day out of it! I didn’t take any photos whilst I was there but bless her, Faye did so I didn’t have to.

This is my spectacular yarn haul: One skein of Fyberspates Scrumptious Lace, and some intriguing little balls of Habu Textiles yarns.

Fyberspates Scrumptious Lace

Not terribly impressive is it? Especially when you compare it to what I bought at Knit Nation last year…

…which I’m still only about halfway through. So I figured this year would be a little bit more of a reconaissance mission instead of an extravagant  blowout.

When you get to a certain point in any creative hobby, you’re going to start caring about your tools and materials. There will be a mental database of stuff you have tried and the particular properties of that stuff. You become discerning! Which is a fancy way of saying yarn snob.

So I wandered about and took notes, mainly of British wool brands, because I am still all about that stuff. Wovember is almost here you guys!

Brands I noted down!

Wednesleydale Longwool Sheepshop: I picked up a shadecard from the Wendesleydale Sheepshop stall for £2 and I’m glad I did. It’s shiny, smooth, strong wool. Nice natural colours too.

Brigantia: A brand of luxury pure British wools, made in Yorkshire. Lovely and squishy!

The Little Knitting Company:  A fine source for fancy knitting accessories, but they also have their own yarn brands too. They have a very wide range of fibres on offer.

Woolyknit Crafts: These guys have just gone from selling wool products to selling wool products and lots of proper certified British yarn. Nice!

Did anyone else make it to the show? What did you get up to?

1 Comment

Filed under Ramblings

One response to “A little bit of yarn shopping

  1. By the way the Brigantia wool felts beautifully. Just thought you might be interested if ever you fancy making slippers I have used it a few times for that.

Leave a Reply

