Half a Fair Isle cardigan

Hello all! I haven’t forgotten about you! I’ve been quietly busying away on my fair isle cardigan (cardigan 1/3 on my needles). Although I got off to a flying start, it wasn’t to last. I buggered up the neckline and had to re-do it.

But now, the body is complete!

The shoulders are bound off and sewn up and you can see a whole bunch of steeks just waiting to be cut – the front, the armpits, the neckline… I’d like to take this moment to gush about the Excelana yarn this is knitted in. It is so perfect you guys! This fabric is so soft and drapey and springy even though it’s stranded and I haven’t even washed it yet! I just want to stroke it all the time! Eeeeeee!

I’m done, let’s move on.

You know a fair isle project is going well when even the back of the fabric looks good right? I’m really pleased with how this is turning out. This is going to end up using all my favourite technical tricks to ensure the finishing is flawless (yes the patterns are mirrored around the front). Why put all that effort into the body otherwise? I’ll even be sewing a zipper in eventually. Anyone fancy a step-by-step guide to that?

My next step is knitting the sleeves though. Because cut steeks aren’t the strongest edges in the world, there’s no point snipping them until you’re about to add more knitting. They’ll be sitting there for a while yet. It’s a little frustrating because it means I can’t test the fit of the thing exactly, but it seems to be about right so far…

10 Comments

Filed under Projects, WIPs

10 responses to “Half a Fair Isle cardigan

  1. Too funny! The inside looks fabulous!

  2. I love the insides! Are you sure you don’t want to wear that as the outside? 😉

  3. The sweater looks very good, is it going to a raglan or set-in sleeve?

  4. Gorgeous inside and out. The final picture did give me a hearty chuckle, so thanks for that. Great job all around.

  5. Impressive work ! both the outside and the inside look gorgeous ! a tutorial for the zipper would be very interesting !

  6. Courtney

    I really love the inside of fair isle work.. It always has a beautiful and geometric look to it. Loved the last picture, gave me a little giggle. Also, a tutorial for putting the zipper in would be fantastic!!! I intentionally avoid things with zippers because the idea of putting one in terrifies me.

Leave a Reply

