FO: Sashiko Cardigan

Done, done, done and done! How about that? After that first kerfuffle with the sleeve caps, they fit really well. Thank goodness, because this is not a yarn that you can easily knit, wash, frog and re-knit without it looking like a wibbly mess.

Not that I would like to disparage you from the yarn (Sublime Extra Fine Merino DK). It’s pretty much my go-to for any stitch pattern that needs to be crystal clear. Very smooth, very drapey and very easy to get hold of in the UK at least!

This diamond sashiko pattern has turned out better than I ever imagined. You can see how beautifully it photographs – the pattern changes ever so subtly with the light.

Obviously I am very, very pleased with this cardigan. The neckline worked out exactly how I wanted, the length is spot-on. I just love it when a plan comes together!

Now I’ve also spent a fair bit of time sitting in front of my notes with a pen in my mouth whilst saying “hrmmm” a lot. I think I am going to try writing this one up into an actual pattern! Eventually! As first cardigan patterns go, it’ll be a challenge; all those travelleing stitches will see to that. But I think it’ll be worth it?

In the mean time I’m going to be happily swanning around in my creation. It’s still juuuuuust cool enough around here that I can wear this in the mornings and evenings. Even dubious weather has an upside!

Update! In March 2013 I finally published the thing! Pattern available here!

9 Comments

Filed under Finished Objects, Projects

9 responses to “FO: Sashiko Cardigan

  1. This cardigan is gorgeous. I can imagine it will get a lot of wear. I will await the pattern with interest 😉

  2. Pretty! It definitely fits you perfectly and seems like the kind of sweater that will go with nearly anything.

  3. This is GORGEOUS! I do hope you will write up and release the pattern so the rest of us can share in its awesomeness.

  4. That looks gorgeous. Good luck with the pattern writing!

  5. I just came cross your blog through Ravelry and just had to tell you that this is a stunning cardigan. Even more impressive that you designed it! I love every stitch!

  6. This looks so friggin cool – I see what you mean about how photogenic it is! I think I’m going to need your help with cardi design in the next few weeks 😉 x

  7. Absolutely stunning! What a simple, elegant, idea!

  8. Courtney

    My goodness!!!! Absolutely stunning!!! Please, please, please post the pattern once you get it written up 🙂

Leave a Reply

