1st Blogiversary Giveaway! 200 Fair Isle Designs

Twas but a year ago this week when I took my first steps into blogging by getting a WordPress account! There was some intensive wrestling with CSS, and then I started to post. And knit. And post and knit some more.

It’s been quite an achievement for me to keep it up this long as I generally have an attention span that can be measured in mm.  Even better is the fact I have a whole bunch of lovely regular readers now!  This calls for a blogiversary celebration of some kind! So………

I am giving away a brand new copy of “200 Fair Isle Designs” by Mary Mucklestone (also known as 200 Fair Isle Motifs outside the UK I believe).

200 Fair Isle Motifs

I bought and reviewed it a while back and as you can see, I enjoyed it very much. As time has gone on, my opinion of it has only increased. I’ve found myself flicking through it idly, looking for project ideas and just making a load of fair isle swatches for fun. Yes, it truly has become the most well-worn knitting book in my collection!

If you’d like a chance at winning this book, just tell me what your most used and loved yarny book is in the comments below!

Comments will be open on this post until Monday 23rd July, 6pm (BST) . One comment per person please!

I am happy to ship internationally and the winner will be chosen randomly.

Thanks for reading and good luck!

35 Comments

Filed under Contests & Offers

35 responses to “1st Blogiversary Giveaway! 200 Fair Isle Designs

  1. My most used and loved book is Knitting Lace by Susanna Lewis. She reverse engineered a lace sampler in a museum and gives written and charted instructions for like 100 motifs.

  2. I love the Knitter’s Handy Book Of Sweaters. I use this book a lot. I highly recommend it. 🙂

  3. Rose

    I have the Harmony Guide to Aran and Fair Isle Knitting: Patterns, Techniques, and Stitches (The Harmony Guides) Debra Mountford (Editor) and I have created many, many lovely projects using it as a guide.

  4. joyce mosby

    I do not have a yarn book that I love- I use the internet. But…. i have always loved Fair Isle. This looks like a lovely book.

  5. Oh my goodness stitch dictionaries are like crack to me. I think I probably use Vogue Knitting’s cable dictionary the most.

  6. MJ

    I can’t say that I have a particular “yarn book” that I go to all the time, but I do go to the Knitter’s Handbook often for techniques like the kitchener stitch and which way to do left and right leaning increases/decreases. I will say, though, that I am drawn to fair isle patterns all the time.

  7. Sherry in Idaho

    My most-used knitting book is “Wrapped in Comfort” by Alison Hyde. I took a Fair Isle online class with Liz Lovick, though, and am hooked on Fair Isle now.

  8. Ivy

    Knitting Without Tears by Elizabeth Zimmerman gets me through a lot of sticky knitting stiuations. 🙂 What a great giveaway!

  9. K

    I only have one yarny book so far – Getting Started Knitting Socks, by Ann Budd. I’m just finishing up my first pair of socks following its patterns, and I’m hooked!

  10. Knittingdancer on Ravelry

    The books I check the most is 60 Quick Knits or my One Skein Wonder book.

  11. Diane

    I have been interested in this book for a while. Think it would be a good resource

  12. Roxyrana

    I have a copy of Vogue stitch dictionary which I have had and used for over 35 years ! These books are invaluable. I think a fair isle one would be brilliant to own.

    Roxyrana on Ravelry

  13. Shay

    My most used and most loved aren’t the same book! The book I turn to most often is Vogue Knitting, for tips and how-tos more than anything else. The book I love best is Victorian Lace Today, which was the first knitting book I ever got and led me to my first really ambitious project.

  14. I actually really love 400 Knitting Stitches – http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/400-Knitting-Stitches-Potter-Craft/9780307462732 I just find it’s great for different ideas and I am slowing making lots of different squares to make a blanket from 🙂

  15. woolytanis

    my most used book is finishing techniques as i try to make my items the best i can, as for fair isle i am so determined to learn this before the end of the year as i love the looks so much of the patterns 🙂 woolytanis from raverly 🙂

  16. Debra (nzdeb on ravellry)

    Mine is The Stitch collection by Debbie O’Neill

  17. For me it is just a plain, old book with about 200 sort of stitches and variations in it. There are a thousand versions of it in, I guess you know what I mean. It is nothing special, but with all the possible patterns and motives there is plenty to choose from an adapt to your own ideas.

    Happy knitting! Ciao, Fleur

  18. Miriam

    Right now that would be Contemporary Irish Knits by Carol Feller. Love it! Would love to learn more about colorwork too–

  19. Ellen - Howdy2u on Ravelry

    It’s a toss up between ‘A Treasury of Knitting Patterns’ and Stitch n Bitch. I love both and refer back to them often!

  20. Kimberly

    Right now I am loving Getting Started Knitting Socks from Ann Budd. I can’t believe I’ve really knitted a sock!

  21. I already own this book so don’t enter me in the giveaway, but I just wanted to pop by to say it’s a great book. Very much an “eye candy” book.

  22. patsy coats

    Mine is One Skein Wonders. have made many of the patterns.

  23. Connie K.

    Barbara Walker’s ‘A Treasury of Knitting Patterns’ is my go to book.

  24. I think I’ve used Sock Innovation the most so far.

  25. I have one of the Vogue Stitchionery Volumes that I love – Thanks!
    Kim Reid

  26. I love my copy of Montse Stanley’s The Handknitter’s Handbook. No patterns as such but filled with technical advice. Fab!

  27. Probably Sock Innovation, I’ve knit so many patterns from it! Or else the Vogue Stitchionaries, which are always handy.

  28. my most used book is Complete Guide to Needlework from readers digest..it was originally my great grams and it was the book i learned to knit and crochet from 🙂

  29. I recently bought ‘Compendium of knitting techniques’ which tells me how to do all the things I’m still not sure about, and lots of new techniques as well.

  30. That’s very generous of you! Congrats on your blogiversary. I learned to knit with a combination of Mom + Stitch ‘n’ Bitch. I still use Stitch ‘n’ Bitch occasionally, and that’s the book I recommend for new knitters.

  31. Congratulations on your first anniversary! My go-to knitting book is a stitch dictionary that never fails to inspire.

    ProjectstashEL

  32. I like “knitting Rules” by McPhee.
    Basic guidelines and funny too.

  33. purplepenguin

    I love any book by Elizabeth Zimmerman. The style just evokes peace, even when there is craziness around! My fave is Knitting without Tears.

  34. cnuland

    As a beginner, my most used book is my “how to” book. I love reading about the favorites of others.

  35. My go-to book for knitting problems is a Dutch book fron 1982 that I have inherited from my mother-in-law. It is called “breien” which is Dutch for “knitting”. It describes a lot of different stitches and patterns. I thought myself how to knit from this book and still look back when I get lost!