Assembling Your Tactleneck

I would’ve called this post “Assembling your modified drop-shoulder jumper that is also knitted entirely in ribbing” but I didn’t think it was catchy enough. As you can see I’ve done a whole bunch of knitting for T’s jumper. Over 70,000 stitches of knit 2, purl 2! I have a new sympathy for the knitters of ridiculous Christmas jumpers now; A couple of reindeer would have made this 50% less brain-melting.

But now it’s time for sewing. Drop shoulder jumpers are pretty easy to sew together, but a little strategy is needed when the fabric is made of super-elastic ribbing.

First the shoulders (I’m doing all the sewing in mattress stitch). Now is a great time to go plonk the neck opening over the head of your recipient to check it fits (it totally did!).

Next, the sleeve heads. The nice thing about drop shoulders is that you can just sew the whole thing flat. But first you have to tie/pin that stretchy ribbing in place! I personally like using bits of scrap wool I can untie as I go along. Here I’ve fixed the centre, and all the corners.

You can keep things even by sewing half the sleeve head at a time. Start from the centre and work outwards.

Remember that knitted fabric has roughly 4 rows to every 3 stitches in a given length, so try to sew through 2 rows of the body after every 3rd stitch through the sleevehead (if that makes sense). The corner needs a few extra reinforcing stitches too. Knitted corners get all the stress!

So after attaching both sleeves you’ll wind up with a gigantic expanse of knitting. Fold it in half and voila! It magically looks like a jumper!

Then it’s just a simple case of sewing up the sleeves and sides in one nice continuous seam (but not one continuous piece of yarn, it’ll get really ratty by the end). At this point you are completely justified in fixing yourself a good stiff drink.

That’s a lot of stitching to do. Over 400 rows worth. Maybe I should stop calculating these things beforehand?

…Oh and there’s still the neck collar to knit…

6 Comments

Filed under Guides/How-to's, Projects, WIPs

6 responses to “Assembling Your Tactleneck

  1. Yes! for the drink because knitting is pleasurable yet hard work.

  2. Yes, stop calculating! You amaze me at how many projects you manage to complete. I bet you are pleased to be rid of all that ribbing though! You totally deserve a drink (and I hope T is paying) 🙂 x

  3. Oh wow, I’m so impressed by how good you are at seaming. I seriously need your skills right now, every time I attempt seaming I always mess it up and have to tear it all out, thus a pile of three sweaters waiting to be seamed. Ribbed designs are also so nice, they always fit so nicely! Lovely work!

  4. I think you should totally keep calculating, just do it after it’s all done 😀 I love thinking of those numbers too, they get so impressively big.

    That tip about pinning the sleeves to the armholes with yarn is fantastic. The very next time I need to sew a seam I’ll use that technique, and think of how, if I hadn’t read your blog, I would’ve gotten stuck by pins repeatedly and very painfully, and shed actual tears and blood for my knitting, again.

    Makes one wonder why I’ve never sought a solution to that particular problem, just gritted my teeth and dealt with the pain. The whole body suffers for a stupid head 😀

  5. If I figured the numbers like that, I’d never even start the project! You have a huge amount of tenacity!

Leave a Reply

