Knitting And Crochet Blog Week – Day 6: Improving Your Skillset

Today’s topic is all about levelling up your knitting-related skills. But instead of just talking smack about my mad skillz, I’m going to get proactive.

You see, there is one particular unmastered skill I’ve been wilfully avoiding: Sock- darning.

My first ever knitted sock took 3 years of battering before finally getting a hole in the toe.  It shall sit around at the bottom of my sock pile no longer!

THRILL!! As I darn a sock before your very eyes!

MARVEL!! At how long it takes me to find the right colour of yarn!

WONDER!! At the barely adequate results!

So here is the sock and here is the hole. Luckily it’s pretty small and just caused by snagged yarn, rather than overall thinning from wear. Oh and it sits entirely inside a grey stripe. Very convenient!

Today I will be following the Knitty guide to reinforcing socks. I have assembled my tools…

Favourite needles, darning mushroom, scissors and leftover sock yarn

and the next step is to unwind the leftover sock yarn until I hit a grey run. Unfortunately Opal sock yarn has some pretty long colour runs, so 9 metres of yarn later, I finally get to some grey.

Let’s face this hole head on and get to the darning.

STEP 1: Horizontal running stitches. The nice easy part. Doesn’t it look neat so far?

STEP 2: Vertical running stitches. These must weave in and out of the horizontal ones. Not too shabby-looking if I say so myself!

STEP 3: Attempt at duplicate stitch to hide the darning and all ends. Ok, I got a bit lost here because the stitches blend into each other so much…

The end! It’s kind of lumpy, but I think I did ok. This is definitely the most thrilling post I’ve written all week.

***

All of my Knit and Crochet Blog Week posts are collected here

You can read everyone else’s Day 6 posts here.

15 Comments

Filed under KniCroBloWeek2012

15 responses to “Knitting And Crochet Blog Week – Day 6: Improving Your Skillset

  1. Oh wow, that is amazing. I’ve yet to try darning, so I am in awe!

  2. sarahrmeltdown

    well done! that darning mushrrom looks awesome! I don’t know what I do wrong, but I am forever having to darn my handknit socks!

  3. I think that’s very impressive – I haven’t been knitting socks for long enough for them to get holes, but when I do, I shall be trying to copy you!

  4. Clever! And I love your mushroom 🙂

  5. Sue

    darning socks is a dying art in this throw away society, my mum taught me to do it and I actually enjoy darning if the sock is worth it, and yours certainly looks worth saving.

  6. I would certainly agree that you did alright, it looks perfect! Wonderful job! You have certainly made me want to give this a try!

  7. Nice work! The sock shall live to keep your feet warm another day…

  8. Your timing is perfect. I have to do my first darning job — and for a much bigger hole than yours. But your photos are a great tutorial. I think I can do this!

  9. Wow, I like your step-by-step darning post! Great tutorial should I ever need this skill 🙂

  10. agothtale

    You ought to be so proud of yourself ! fixing that sock was epic, and it’s really brave to face those despairing holes !The result is perfectly ok, now you can wear your socks! I’m looking forward to sock-knitting, sounds like a lot of fun !

  11. So happy you posted. I have a pair that needs darning too and I had no idea how to do it. Damn, now that’s something else on my to do list for the day.

  12. Day

    I would’ve left the hole. 😀

  13. Fussel

    If you want to do even better in darning, try “swiss darning”: You sew the way you would do grafting. The result looks like knitting, is elastic like knitting and in most cases you don’t even see the darned part anymore after you’ve washed and worn it 2-3 times. And this lets Socks (or whatever knitting) live even longer than the usual darning. I love this method!
    G**gle “swiss darning” and you will find a lot of pictures and video tutorials.

Leave a Reply

