Free Pattern: Cowl à la mode

I have very poor impulse control when it comes to new yarn. Putting two balls of fat squishy merino yarn in front of me is just asking for it. Sure I could have continued with the projects already on needles but it’s just two balls of yarn how long will that take to knit up?

And so! I have whipped my winnings into a cowl!

Cowl a la mode

Isn’t it awfully fashionable? It’s the ideal length for wrapping double around my neck and it’s as thick as I could want. No wind is getting through this cowl thank you very much.

I wanted a sort of herringbone effect and after messing around for a bit it turns out that chunky yarn just needs the simplest of broken ribbing patterns to look good.

This uses almost all of 2 balls of Sublime Chunky Merino Tweed and it’s such a nice quick knit I thought I would share it! I like my cowls on the loose side, so if you want something tighter, just cast on fewer stitches (in multiples of 4).

COWL À LA MODE

Materials: 174 yds of Chunky(sometimes called Bulky) yarn.
Suggested Yarn: Sublime Chunky Merino Tweed! 2 balls of!

Needles: 10mm circular needles (80cm cable)

Gauge: 8st/4in (10cm) after blocking

CO 112 sts , Place marker to indicate beginning of round and carefully join without twisting to start working in the round.

Round 1: [K1, P1] to end

Round 2: [P1, K1] to end

Rounds 3 & 4: Repeat Rounds 1 & 2.

Rounds 5 & 6: P

Rounds 7 & 8: K

Rounds 9 & 10: [K2, P2] to end

Rounds 11 & 12: P, [K2, P2] to 1 st before end, P

Rounds 13 & 14: [P2, K2] to end

Rounds 15 & 16: K, [P2, K2] to 1 st before end, K

Rounds 17-22: Repeat Rounds 9-14

Rounds 23 & 24: K

Rounds 25 & 26: P

Round 27: [P1, K1] to end

Round 28: [K1, P1] to end

Rounds 29 & 30: Repeat Rounds 27 & 28

BO

Weave in all ends, block by gently washing in lukewarm water, squeezing out excess water and laying flat to dry.

Update: The Ravelry pattern page is HERE!

16 Comments

Filed under Patterns

16 responses to “Free Pattern: Cowl à la mode

  1. I was looking for a quick and easy to knit up cowl. Can’t wait to try this pattern. Thanks!

  2. Love the pattern but wondering could you use super bulky yarn and if so what size needle??? Thanks
    Kathy

  3. Thanks for sharing this lovely cowl.
    Happy Nw Year.
    Hugs.

  4. Deborah

    Hi, I was wondering what the circumference of the finished product is? You say it is long enough to comfortably wrap around your neck twice?

  5. Love it! I’ve made one for myself, mom and just bought yarn so I can make one in college colors as a graduation gift. Awesome, quick and easy pattern! thanks!

  6. Liz

    Rows 11 & 12 and 15 & 16 seem to have two extra stitches. Row 9 & 10 is (K2, P2) but the next rows have a purl and the beginning and the end and the rest is K2, P2.

    • Faith Goldman

      I
      I just finished this cowl and I have a problem with the directions. Rows 17-22 state: REPEAT ROUNDS 9-14. Then the next row jumps to rounds 23 and 24. Rows 15 & 16 are left out of the equasion. So the indentation that should have been the 2 rows of knit on the top are 2 rows of purl on the bottom. Please explain?

  7. gloria smith

    I love cowls so quick and easy. I give most away to needy people and a lot to sking friends. The work keeps my rd cal, and able to use my fingers. Thank you. Gloria

  8. Ann

    My granddaughters are Hooked on Cowls! and while my old arthritic hands can cope I will carry on. This pattern suits us all to a T. Thanks so much for sharing.
    Annie

  9. Tricia Denning

    “I have very poor impulse control when it comes to new yarn.” Blaaa haaa haa…that is soooooo me..Thanks!

  10. Joye

    I love the pattern, but can it be a scarf instead of a cowl

  11. DORATHY KNIGHTS

    so how can i make a copy of this pattern????????????

  12. DORATHY KNIGHTS

    i want this pattern, but not all of the reply’s

  13. Rose

    What is the length of the needle?

Leave a Reply

