Little tricks, little tips

During the holidays, I made some good progress on my official cosy winter project. But after so much mindless, relaxing holiday knitting, there was sewing to be done. There was a quiet spell when I was staying round my parents, so I got down to it. I picked up the needle and threaded on the yarn in my usual way, licking the end so it rolled to a neat little point for easy threading.

Yeeccch!” said my mum. “Did you just lick the wool?”

“Yes? What?” said I.

“Here, let me show you a better way of doing it so you don’t have to lick wool all the time.”

So she did. Mum’s preferred method is as follows:

1. Fold yarn over darning needle
2. Pinch yarn tightly in place around the needle
3. Slip the yarn off the needle whilst still pinching it in place
4. Stick that tight little fold of yarn through the needle eye.

It’s one of these tiny, neat little tricks you don’t necessarily work out on your own, but luckily that one has been passed down several generations of my maternal line. Now the chain remains unbroken!

It got me wondering what other little things I might be missing out on. Do any of you have tricks of your own you’d like to share? Let’s hear ‘em!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Guides/How-to's, Ramblings

2 responses to “Little tricks, little tips

  1. I was very grateful that the bloke who taught me to knit also taught me that trick.

  2. Hellz, yeah, I’m a tip hoarder! Check them out here: http://www.ravelry.com/people/dayana

    But as an example, here’s a gosh-darndit simple one I learned this from the back of 50s knitting magazine: Instead of putting down your knitting to pick up a pen and mark a something on a page, just take your knitting needle point and stab the paper. If you are clever, you will stab over a written down sequence of numbers and never put down your knitting!

Leave a Reply

