A new knitting challenge appears!

I’m not usually one for New Year’s Resolutions, because as I like to say, “Why do today what you can put off til next year?”. Nonetheless I am taking part in an actual year-long knitting challenge: Knit the Queue 2013, which to say, a challenge to empty out the ‘queue’ list in your Ravelry account. Some people use the queue function to list patterns they like enough to hypothetically knit and so their queue list stretches into the hundreds. On the other hand, some people use it to list only patterns they are definitely, absolutely going to knit at some point and so their queue list stretches into the hundreds.

For this challenge, I have pared my queue down to a scant 9 patterns:

These are all items I was definitely, absolutely going to knit at some point when I queued them, up to 2 years ago. The astute reader will notice these are all very fine gauge projects, with nary a DK weight amongst them. Is that what put me off making them for so long? Probably!

But the challenge is on. Project Number 1 is the His ‘n’ Hers Gloves, using up my one fancypants skein of Wollmeise Sockenwolle.

ktqgloves

So what’s the deal with Wollmeise anyway? Some people love it, some people hate it! It’s almost like combining a high quality handpainted yarn with a limited first-come availability and good publicity creates a dedicated and slightly fanatic fanbase or something!

If this whole challenge thing sounds like fun, join the Ravelry group (as started by mooncalfe)! There is also a twitter tag, #ktq2013. Or do you have other 2013 knitting challenges planned?

9 Comments

Filed under Projects, WIPs

9 responses to “A new knitting challenge appears!

  1. Q – Love the gloves! Good idea, knitting the queue! It will be fun to watch you knit the queue. 8-)

  2. I love spying on other people’s queues. I always see things that I wouldn’t have found myself on rav

  3. The gloves are fab! Good luck with your queue busting, it’s a great idea. x

  4. Yeah, my queue is huge!!! But, I do like the idea of shorting it up. Maybe my goal for this week should be to get ride of things I know I will never knit.
    My plan is too make my stash smaller and spin more. I really should get moving on that!

  5. Putting my cynical hat on for a moment (why thank you yes, I did knit it myself!), I reckon that one of the reasons for Wollmeise’s success is that it photographs beautifully. I’ve knit with it once and hated using it, the lack of bounce or give made it such hard work.

  6. It’s possible to trim one’s queue below 100? Who knew?

    Those gloves are so pretty.

  7. Pingback: WIP: Laceweight Blouse | A pile of sheep

  8. Pingback: The end of the year | A pile of sheep

Leave a Reply

