Know your enemy

Warning: This post contains some really gross pictures. Totally gross. Squeamish people should not read ahead. I mean it, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Ok then.

Wool lovers behold: the face of your enemy.

moth

No, not that little rice-grain sized thing there. Out you come…

moth2

moth3

Yes you! That’s right! Tineola bisselliella larvae! You see all the little red bits in the cocoon? That used to be carpet!

moth4

Thank goodness we rent or I would be inconsolable about the carpet and the subsequent pest control fee. Of course, all my wool has been bagged and/or thrown in the freezer for safe-keeping.

In the mean time I’ve been doing my best at damage control. The larvae are unfortunately quite good at wedging themselves in place, so vacuuming has limited effect (and I have a Dyson and everything). No, instead I spent a good part of my weekend pulling dozens of the little buggers out of the carpet with tweezers. Oddly satisfying actually.  Also satisfying is posting one’s petty annoyances on a blog. Aahhh…

May your stashes remain moth-free my friends.

8 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

8 responses to “Know your enemy

  1. Ewwww. Hope you got ‘em all!

  2. Oh NO! Sending lots of moth-repellent cyber-vibes your way!!
    Are you doing a defrost and then re-freeze on your stash? I think that’s meant to be particularly effective… Good luck!

  3. NOOOOOOOOO!!!!! I hope your stash remains safe!

  4. Part of me is grossed out, but the other part of me is very intrigued by what is making up the rest of it, if the red is carpet. Good luck keeping your stash safe!

    • As I am now intimately accquainted with the carpet, I can tell you it’s probably a mixture of the white and red fibres that make the carpet more of a dusky pink. I’ve pulled out a variety of shades of cocoons!

  5. Ok. You totally warned me, but I looked anyway. EWWWW! I’m so sorry to hear about this infestation! Moths have got to be near the top of the list of biggest disasters a stash could sustain. Good thinking bagging and freezing! I hope your landlord gets thugs fixed up for you ASAP and there are no reoccurrences.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Links- Pest Control News | Pest Control and Bug Exterminator Blog

Leave a Reply

